Maclyn Bean’s Favorite Albums Of 2015!

This will be my last post with American Aftermath. Thanks for all the years of great music, discussion, and opportunities. 2015 was a phenomenal year for music, all across the spectrum, whether it be metal, electronic, hip hop, or noise. Thank You.   

Cattle DecapitationThe Anthropocene Extinction
Absolutely perfect album. A more focused continuation of Monolith of Inhumanity.

WRVTHS/T
Pretty intros, weedily weedily tech death, and somewhat unique vocals. They need to get to the east coast already.

Party CannonBong Hit Hospitalisation
Slams, slams, hilarious samples, and more slams. 10/10

Kendrick LamarTo Pimp A Butterfly
This is on everyone’s list for good reasons. Seeing him play for 80,000 people at Bonnaroo was a real treat.

IngestedThe Architect of Extinction
Even more slams. They finally made it to the US for the Origin and Soreption tour, which was great, just like this album.

GrimesArt Angels
Claire took a very different approach to this album, but somehow it worked well. This sounds nothing like Visions. She was amazing at Fun Fun Fun Fest, even though she had a relatively short set.

Death GripsThe Powers That B
Yep.

Cloud RatQliphoth
Amazing female-fronted grindcore band from the Midwest. This album did not disappoint.

Hiatus KaiyoteChoose Your Weapon
I usually don’t listen to stuff with this, but this had me hooked immediately on hearing it. I’m glad a lot of my metal friends are into this as well.

EntheosPrimal
Basically Animosity 2.0. I’ll take what I can get. I’m expecting the forthcoming LP to blow this away however.

PrurientFrozen Niagara Falls
This album made me shit myself, in a good way. This doesn’t sound like a lot of his earlier work, but it’s extremely cohesive, and very easy to listen to, considering it’s a noise/dark ambient release.

Thou & The BodyYou, Whom I Have Always Hated
Dream collaboration. Saw these two bands perform together in a sweaty warehouse basement on the 4th of July of last year, and it’s still one of the heaviest shows I’ve ever seen. My only gripe with this release is that it’s an EP and not a full-length.

Cult LeaderLightless Walk
Gaza 2.0 put out yet another phenomenal album. Deathwish is treating them well, and Kurt Ballou’s production sounds incredible, as always.

IntronautThe Direction of Last Things
I didn’t particularly enjoy Habitual Levitations, but this album is a heavvvvyy return to form for this band. Always a pleasure seeing them live and hearing their new musical output.

EnvyAtheist’s Cornea
Dropped the ball on this one and didn’t listen to it til towards the end of the year. I was gutted by the fact that I missed their East coast shows due to being in Texas for Fun Fun Fun Fest.

Primitive ManHome Is Where The Hatred Is
Heavy as fuck. This EP breathes hatred, death, nihilism, and pain with terrifying execution.

Vattnet ViskarSettler
Another great release from my friends in VV. Intriguing album art, but it’s still a solid release from this atmospheric black metal band. Also worth noting – all the tracks are one word.

YautjaSongs of Lament
I will never pass up an opportunity to see this band. HEAVY. Stoked for what’s to come next from these fine gentlemen.

EnslavedIn Times
I’ve always loved this Norwegian proggy black metal band, and this album sounded great.

Black Sheep WallI’m Going To Kill Myself
Strong release from this California post-metal / sludge band. Another band I would wish would come to the East coast.

Leave a Comment, Show Some Love

